Brighton & Hove Green Group of Councillors

Brighton Town Hall

In the May 2015 election, 11 Green councillors were elected across 6 wards in Brighton & Hove.

Prior to this in the 5 May 2011 election 23 Green councillors were elected across ten wards, including six councillors in Hove. 

The Greens as the largest party formed a minority administration.

After four years of 'cabinet style' rule imposed by the former Labour government, on 17 May 2012, a modernised committee system was introduced, the way of working that had been in use before 2008 and had received all-party support.

You can read more about the council's political makeup and the roles and responsibilities of Green councillors here.

Watch council meeting webcasts here on the Brighton & Hove City Council site.


Contacting your Green councillors

All councillors have direct telephone lines and e-mail.  They can all be contacted by post at: Hove Town Hall, Norton Road, Hove

If you live in a part of the city not served by Green councillors you can find out how and who to contact at the Brighton & Hove City Council website.

Contact details, biographies and notices from councillors are available at the links in the middle column.

Unsure about which ward you live in? Contact Brighton & Hove City Council electoral services 01273 291 999.


Convenor councillors


Councillor Phelim Mac Cafferty

Convenor of the Green Group (closest position to leader)

T: 01273 291165

E: phelim.maccafferty@brighton-hove.gov.uk


Deputy Convenors




Councillor Amanda Knight 

Deputy Convenors Internal Relations

T: 01273 291165
E: louisa.greenbaum@brighton-hove.gov.uk

E: Amanda.Knight@brighton-hove.gov.uk